Welcome Ladies Who Live for Game Day!

21 Aug

Hi there! As I am a graduate of Mr. Jefferson’s university and a devoted Wahoo I couldn’t help but notice there was a serious lack of content for the female college sports fan. 

 

Sure there are great blogs about college sports.  Even more websites devoted to covering news about your favorite team and the various ins and outs of the NCAA.  Yet none were focused solely on the female college sports fan.

Grrr. Why do the guys have all the fun?

I don’t know about you but I love college sports- especially the kings of college sport football and men’s basketball.  Growing up in ACC country if you didn’t like basketball many people would pull out the “Bless your heart” saying.  (For those who do not live in the South that means WTF- just a nicer way of saying it).  Saturdays are filled with tailgating, celebrating, and singing your fight song.

Nothing compares to the college sport experience- well maybe one thing church.  I know, I know church and college sports the two are like apples and oranges but if you really look close you see there are a ton of similarities.  After all for many in the United States, Saturdays in autumn are considered holy days of obligation.

  1. To participate in the fan experience one must follow the dress code of your school colors.
  2. Game day begins in the parking lot where you gather as a community for food, drinks, and games.  This in turn allows fans to have fellowship with one another.
  3. During the game there are group chants, songs, cheers, and moments where fans will stand without being prompted.
  4. The coach is the minister, inspiring not only his players and staff but also the fans in the stands and those watching from home.
  5. The coach is a role model for the behavior the fans engage in
  6. The athletic departments also passes the offering plate- and those boosters who give a bit more get the closest access to the action.

For the Lady in the Stands we’re in a slippery slope because often we’ve never played the game we’re cheering for… but we’re cheering.  And like many of you I wasn’t too sure about when, how, why to cheer when my team scored a goal, touchdown, home run, or basket.  When I got engaged to my husband I realized very quickly that if I were to have a happy marriage I would need to understand his favorite hobbies- especially watching sports.

What happened then was I started doing some good old fashioned research on football and basketball and became hooked.  I became an ESPN junkie, listened to sports talk radio, and even played fantasy football.  But nothing, nothing compared to when I completed my degree at the University of Virginia and did my graduating thesis on college sports.  You know you love a topic when you are willing to spend close to a year researching it and then you write a 60 page paper on the topic. 

The challenge is now I have all this great college sports information in my head and no where else to share it.  So now that graduation has happened my love of college sports still remains.  So what is a girl to do? Start a college sports blog devoted to the female fan. 

A large portion on the blog will be dealing with the big sports- football and men’s basketball, but I will cover smaller sports because those athletes are awesome!

Let me know what you think…. Ramona

Image

My tiny humans and I celebrating my graduation from UVa in May 2012

Leave a comment