Webb Defects from War Eagle in SI Shoot

23 Feb

So my husband gets Sports Illustrated in the mail regularly… and I being the Sports Gal Pal love the coverage SI typically gives- a bit of background on current issues with sports.

But I LOATHE the annual Swimsuit Issue! Maybe its just me, but I don’t understand how you can call it a swimsuit issue when most of the models are naked?

It is the one SI I ask my husband to keep from my eyesight.  Of course he did mention one model in particular.

Katherine Webb

Now for those who may not know Webb is now famous for not only being Miss Alabama but for being Alabama Quarterback’s AJ McCarron’s girlfriend.  She was spotted in the stands during the National Championship Game because frankly she was more interesting than watching Bama’s D destroy Notre Dame.

It was a HUGE boost to her career and for them most part I say bravo!

But in the SI Swimsuit issue Webb is wearing a Bama jersey with her boyfriend’s number and the bottom of a skimpy string bikini.  The problem I have with this picture is not the lack of clothing (actually she is wearing the most clothing of any model in the magazine, and frankly looks good) but the fact that she is wearing a Bama jersey.

Webb graduated from Auburn.

For those of who who may not know, the rivarly between Alabama and Auburn is bitter, sometimes violent, and personal.  Its bad e

nough that Bama is the king of all things college football, but for a graduate of War Eagle to be published in a magazine wearing the enemies colors is just wrong.

If I were an alum of Auburn, I would demand the diploma back.

 

Leave a comment